From the Court to the Courtroom

 

When Loxley Keala transferred to the Iowa Volleyball program in Spring 2015, her passion for law truly sparked. Eager to attend law school after her senior campaign, the setter standout wasted no time preparing for the biggest exam of them all; the Law School Admission Test.

Through countless hours of studying in between workouts, on buses, planes, and late nights in local Iowa City coffee shops, Keala registered to take the LSAT on September 24, in Ann Arbor, Michigan, just hours before her team’s match versus the Michigan volleyball squad. I sat down with Keala after her team’s win against Northwestern Saturday evening to learn more about her post Division I athletics endeavors. 

When did you decide you wanted to be a lawyer? Any particular practice you’re interested in pursuing?

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-5-00-40-pmI have wanted to go to law school since the second semester of my sophomore year when I transferred to Iowa. Ideally, I would like to become an attorney practicing corporate law- although I haven’t really decided what other fields I’m interested in.

As a Division I athlete wrapping up your athletic career, how do you reach your goal of attending law school while balancing classes, practices, games and a social life?

It’s definitely challenging to balance and succeed in both academics and athletics. Time management skills and prioritization are necessary. Even though it’s stressful at times, I am so thankful that I am able to participate in Division I athletics because I know that it will help me in the future, particularly in the courtroom. Missing out on opportunities because of prior commitments to sports isn’t easy, so I’ve always planned ahead. Over the 2015-16 winter break, I had the honor of working with Judge Richard Perkins, First Circuit Court Judge of the 8th Division in the State of Hawaii. It was truly an experience I will never forget.

How did it come about that you would take the LSAT on the road in Michigan?

I knew I wanted to take the LSAT twice in case I didn’t get the score I wanted the first time. However, the screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-5-01-27-pmLSAT is only offered four days throughout the year and they make very little exceptions. We happened to be away the weekend of Sept. 24, so I knew I needed to take it in Ann Arbor.

 

What does it mean to you personally that you are prepared for a career following your Life After Division I Sports?

 

Volleyball has been amazing to me my entire life and has prepared me to step out into the real world. I feel confident in myself and in my skills to succeed in law school and then go on to succeed in my career. It truly is nice knowing what I want to do with my life.

 

One thought on “From the Court to the Courtroom

Leave a Reply

